Categories
Tecnica Agent 120

Latest Developments

I received the pair of 25.5 size Tecnica Agent 120 ski boots I ordered. They are noticeably smaller than the 25.5 size boots I bought last year. The boot sole length is 6 mm shorter, and the general fit of the boot is much more low volume. With the said, that size shell is still too long. There’s still about 1 inch of room lengthwise. That amount of extra room is just too much. I worry less that those 25.5 boots would feel as sloppy as last year’s 25.5 boots, but there still wasn’t good hold in the heel, and that’s just too much length for the type of performance I want from my boots. It didn’t take me very long to decide that I didn’t want to even try those 25.5 boots.

So, the next step is to take the 24.5 boots to a custom fitter to have the necessary work done. I haven’t yet decided which bootfitter I will use this time, but it’s a little less of a concern because I went ahead and bought a second pair of the 24.5 size boots. If the first fitter I go to messes up, I have an inexpensive backup pair. It’s a little crazy to have two pairs of the same boot, but they were inexpensive, and it leaves me with infinitely less stress about the upcoming fitting I will require.

But which fitter should I go to? All the fitters I have gone to in the past are possibilities. Even the bootfitter I used last year is a possibility, and they messed up my boot fitting last year more than anyone ever has (or ever will). I know, however, that I could walk in there, say I have a hot spot, and ask them to punch out a spot and they will likely just do it with very few questions. Their stretches seemed to be very good. They obviously have all the equipment they need to punch the shell without much collateral damage to other spots on the boots. In addition to their high quality stretches, I also very much liked their custom footbeds.

The custom fitter I had first used will put the time in to balance the boot more completely. He will adjust the cuffs, fix the canting, adjust the ramp angle if necessary, and, of course, do the shell stretches that I require. I thought their custom footbeds were a little less effective, their stretches were less clean, and they are very expensive. With that said, their boot–while not perfect–worked much better than the other place’s boot.

I also have a couple bootfitter recommendations from friends. I’m not completely sold on those fitters, however, because my friends didn’t seem to need nearly as much work as I will require, and I don’t think they have the same fit problems that I have. I might visit those shops, though, just to see what kind of vibe I get from them.

My next steps are to take some more measurements to get a clearer idea of the specific areas of the boot that will require extra width. I just want to be more sure of, and more specific with, my answers to their questions. Mostly, though, I’m just ready to make this work, finally. I want boots that will allow me to perform at my highest level without causing debilitating pain. It’s a simple goal that has so far eluded me for a number of reasons. This time, however, I have at least two chances to get it right and–given the low cost of the boots–much less financial risk.

Leave a comment